STEM – Meet our Faculty

Mark Bauer, Shiprock Science Faculty
Ph.D., Northwestern University
(505) 368-3589
mcbauer@dinecollege.edu

Roberta C. Barbalace, Tsaile Science Faculty
M.S., Colorado State University, Animal Science
M.S., Miami University, OH—Botany
B.A., Rutgers University, NJ—Biology and Chemistry
(928) 724-6717
rbarbalace@dinecollege.edu

Michael P. Begaye, Shiprock Science Faculty
Ph.D., New Mexico Tech
(505) 368-3581
mpbegaye@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Frederick Boyd, Tsaile Science Faculty
Ph.D., Physiology, University of Florida
B.S., Zoology, University of Wisconsin-Madison
(928) 724-6937
fboyd@dinecollege.edu
Click here for Profile of Dr. Boyd

(928) 724-6937
fboyd@dinecollege.edu
University of Florida, Physiology, B.S. University of Wisconsin-Madison, Zoology

Who Am I?

I was born in Ft Lauderdale, Florida on the edge of the Everglades a long time ago.  Santa used to come to our house on an airboat!  My mother was born in southern Wisconsin (Clinton), her mother was born in Denmark and emigrated to the United States.  Her father’s family came to the New World in the 1630s.  My father was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, his mother was born in Berne, Switzerland and moved to the United States in the 1890s.  His father’s family came to the New World in the 1740s after the Scots were defeated at the Battle of Colloden and their uncle beheaded in the Tower of London.

Both my mother and father were raised on farms, my dad went to college on a sheep judging scholarship and slept in the sheep barns throughout his undergraduate career at the University of Wisconsin in the 1930s!  He continued with his studies and received his Ph.D. in Agronomy and Soils in 1937.  He and my mother moved to the Everglades in 1938.

I received my Ph.D. in Physiology from the University of Florida, having studied and published numerous papers on the effect of insulin in cultured neuronal and glial cells.  After graduate school I did postdoctoral training at Yale, University of Massachusetts and Sloan Kettering Institute in NYC under Joan Massague’ studying Transforming Growth Factor- Beta and growth inhibition.  Subsequently, I established a lab at the University of Minnesota, where I continued my research and developed a method to identify growth inhibited cells and genes that act as dominant suppressors of cell cycle.

Since 2017 I have taught at Dine College in beautiful Tsaile, Arizona in the Four Corners region.  I teach Anatomy and Physiology for majors and non-majors and upper division courses in Cell and Molecular Biology.  I am the advisor of the pre-professional club and am involved in collaborative research and training projects with the University of Arizona, Northern Arizona University and the University of Alaska-Fairbanks.

CV/Resume

Dr. Boyd’s Resume

Research Interests

Dr. Boyd’s Interest

Course Responsibilities

Anatomy and Physiology (Bio 160, Bio 201, Bio 202); Cell and Molecular Biology (Bio 344)

Dr. Boyd’s Publications

Additional info?

When I’m not in Tsaile, I’m in Phoenix with my wife (weekends) or on SV Joy, my 36′ Pearson 365 ketch sailboat in Florida (long vacations)

Advisees, Please Setup a meeting time with Dr. Boyd.

Name:

E-mail:

Major:

What type of help do you need?:

When can you meet with Dr. Boyd?:

 

Mr. Chris Guyer, Shiprock Science Faculty
505-368-3556 ext. 3556
cguyer@dinecollege.edu
Click here for Profile of Chris Guyer

Kathryn Hartzell, Shiprock Science Faculty
MAT, Pacific University College of Education
ext. 3584
khatzell@dinecollege.edu

Barbara A. Klein, Tsaile Science Faculty
M.S., Iowa State University, Microbiology
(928) 724-6939
bklein@dinecollege.edu

Oleksandr Makeyev, Tsaile Faculty
PH.D., Clarkson University
(928) 724-6960
omakeyev@dinecollege.edu

Valiollah Manavi, Shiprock Faculty
M.S., Southern Illinois University
(505) 368-3537
vmanavi@dinecollege.edu

Margaret Mayer, Tsaile Science Faculty
M.S., University of Rhode Island
928.724.6722
mmayer@dinecollege.edu
Click here for Profile of Margaret Mayer

John Murray, Tsaile Faculty
PhD, Clemson University, Engineering
(928) 724-6707
jmurray@dinecollege.edu

Dennis Price, Shiprock Faculty
B.S., University of Arizona
(505) 368-3535
dprice@dinecollege.edu

Donald Robinson, Tsaile Science Faculty
Ph.D, Maharishi University of Managment
928.724.6719
dkrobinson@dinecollege.edu

Anne C. Semrau, Tsaile Science Faculty
M.S., Antioch New England, Environmental Studies
B.S., University of Texas, Chemistry
(928) 724-6710
asemrau@dinecollege.edu
Click here for Profile of Anne C. Semrau

Willis Tsosie, Tsaile Faculty
M.S. Montana State University
(928) 724-6965
wtsosie@dinecollege.edu

Cheng Wang, Tsaile Faculty
Ph.D., Arizona State University
(928) 724-6724
cwang@dinecollege.edu