News Release – Diné College Annual Convocation: ‘…We Impact the Navajo Nation and Beyond’

TSAILE, Ariz. — Diné College officials lauded the institution’s new four-year status, welcomed new faculty members and briefly talked about the benefits of attending tribal colleges and universities during Tuesday’s Fall 2019 convocation.

Diné College President Dr. Charles Monte Roessel told the 150-plus administrators and faculty gathered at the Student Union Building that according to recent research most TCU students feel tribal-oriented institutions fulfill their academic and social needs.

“There is a sense of belonging, a sense of identity and caring that they say only comes from a tribal college or university,” Roessel said. “From the strength of our community to the path that Diné College is on, we impact the Navajo Nation and beyond.”

Diné College Provost Dr. Geraldine Garrity noted the college’s four-year institutional recognition by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) in April. Earlier this year, the HLC approved the four-year institutional status and two additional options within the BA of Fine Arts degree: Silversmithing and Weaving.

Among the new faculty members are Alysa Landry and Gregory Redhouse, Ph.D, with the School of Arts, Humanities and English, and Angel DeSoto, Paul Arbetan and Scott Bender with the School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM).

Diné College’s annual Convocation is a welcoming opportunity to comprehensively share new information about the college among administrators, faculty and students.



Marie R. Etsitty Nez 
Vice President of External Affairs

George Joe, M.A., M.Ed, Director Of Marketing and Communications

Bernie DotsonPublic Relations Officer

Dine College Facebook Dine College YouTube Dine College Twitter Dine College Instagram