Meet our Faculty – STEM

Mark Bauer

Dr. Mark Bauer, Professor

Ph.D., Northwestern University, Anthropology
M.A., Northwestern University, Anthropology
B.A., Ohio State University, Anthropology

(505) 368-3589
mcbauer@dinecollege.edu

Fredrick Boyd

Dr. Frederick Boyd, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Florida, Medical Science and Physiology
B.S., University of Wisconsin, Zoology

(928) 724-6937
fboyd@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Joseph Angel de Soto, Professor

Ph.D., Howard University Graduate School, Pharmacology
M.D., Howard University College of Medicine, Medicine
DSS, National American University, National Security & Intelligence
B.S., La Sierra University, Biophysical Chemistry

Professor STEM & Biomedical Science
Phone: (505) 368-3583
jadesoto@dinecollege.edu

Shazia Tabassum Hakim

Dr. Shazia Tabassum Hakim, Professor

Ph.D., University of Karachi, Microbiology
M.Sc. University of Karachi, Microbiolgy
B.Sc., University of Karachi, Microbiolgy

Tuba City Professor (Microbiology/Biology/Anatomy & Physiology)
Diné College, Tuba City, AZ, 86045
928-283-5113 Ext:7520
stabassum@dinecollege.edu

Oleksandr Makeyev, Associate Professor

Ph.D., Clarkson University, Engineering Science
M.S., Taras Shevchenko National University, Statistics
B.S., Taras Shevchenko National University, Mathematics

(928) 724-6960
omakeyev@dinecollege.edu

Ojo Babatunde

Dr. Babatunde Ojo, Professor

Ph.D., University of Toledo, Medicinal Chemistry
M.S., University of Toledo, Medicinal Chemistry
M.S., Ahmadu Bello University, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
B.S., University of Lagos, Chemistry

928-283-5113 Ext. 7525
bojo@dinecollege.edu

Donald Robinson, Jr., Associate Professor

Ph.D., Maharishi University of Management, Physiology
M.A., Maharishi International University, Science of Creative Intelligence
M.S., Maharishi International University, Physiology
M.S., The University of Akron, Biology
B.S., Northern Arizona University, Biology

928.724.6719
dkrobinson@dinecollege.edu

Paul T. Arbetan, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Kansas, Systematics and Ecology
B.A., Lawrence University, Biology

ptarbetan@dinecollege.edu

Michael P. Begaye, Professor

Ph.D., New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, Chemistry
M.S., University of New Mexico, Chemistry
B.S., Fort Lewis College, Chemistry

(505) 368-3581
mpbegaye@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Scott Bender, Professor

DVM – Doctor of Veterinary Medicine – Washington State University
DVM -Doctor of Veterinary Medicine -Oregon State University
BVs – Veterinary Science – Washington State University
BS – Animal Science – Oregon State University
BS – Biochemistry/Biophysics – Oregon State University

Professor/Veterinarian, Tsaile campus
(928) 724-6721
sbender@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Carmella Kahn, Instructor

Ph.D., University of Arizona, Public Health
M.Ph., University of Arizona, Public Health
B.S., University of Arizona, Microbiology

Shiprock North Campus Room 102
Phone: (505) 368-3583
Email: ckahn@dinecollege.edu

Barbara A. Klein, Associate Professor

M.S., Iowa State University, Microbiology
M.A., Clarke College, IA., Computer Application in Ed.
B.A., Mercyhurst College, PA, Chemistry

(928) 724-6939
bklein@dinecollege.edu

Dr. John Murray, Associate Professor

Ph.D., Clemson University, Engineering
M.S., University of South Florida, Engineering
B.S., University of South Florida, Engineering

(928) 724-6707
jmurray@dinecollege.edu

Dennis Price, Instructor

B.S., Northern Arizona University, Agriculture

(505) 368-3535
dprice@dinecollege.edu

Demetra Skaltsas, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Maryland, Plant Science
B.S., University of Maryland, Plant Science

dnskaltsas@dinecollege.edu

Willis Tsosie, Instructor

M.S., Montana State University, Information Processing & Communication
B.S., Rocky Mountain College, Computer Science
A.A., Little Big Horn College, Data Processing

(928) 724-6965
wtsosie@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Chengde Wang, Associate Professor

Ph.D., Arizona State University, Mathematics
M.S., Beijing Biss International School, Mathematics
B.S., Beijing Biss International School, Mathematics

(928) 724-6724
cwang@dinecollege.edu