Meet Our Faculty

Barsine Barney Benally, Instructor

M.A., Doane College, Education
B.A., Arizona State University, Education
A.A., Diné College, Education

928.724.6816
barbenally@dinecollege.edu

Thomas Benally, Instructor

M.Ed., Doane College, Curriculum & Instruction
B.S., Northern Arizona University, Education

928.724.6815
tbenally@dinecollege.edu

Amelia Black, Associate Professor

M.Ed., Arizona State University, Curriculum & Instruction (Bilingual Education)
B.A., Arizona State University, Education

ECE Faculty
928.724.6701
aiblack@dinecollege.edu

Blackhorse Mitchell, Professor

M.A., University of New Mexico, Secondary Education
B.S., University of New Mexico, Elementary Education
A.S., Diné College, BI/Cultural/Language
A.A., Diné College, Education

BAEE Faculty
928.724.6817
bmitchell@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Herman Cody, Associate Professor

Ed.D., Arizona State University, Education
M.A., Northern Arizona University, Bilingual/Multicultural Ed.,
B.S., Northern Arizona University, Elementary Ed. A.A., University of New Mexico, Recreation/Leadership

BAEE Faculty
(928) 724-6703
hcody@dinecollege.edu

Roger P. Benally, Professor

M.Ed., Doane College, Educational Leadership
M.Ed., Doane College, Curriculum & Instruction
B.A., Prescott College, Education

Navajo Language Faculty
M.Ed, Doane College
Educational Leadership
928.724.6659
rpbenally@dinecollege.edu

Avery Denny, Professor

Diné Medicine Man’s Association, Inc., Hataahlii

Diné Studies Faculty
928.724.6664
adenny@dinecollege.edu

Thomas Littleben Jr., Instructor

B.S., Northern Arizona University, Education
A.A., Diné College, Diné Studies
A.A., Diné College, Navajo Language

Navajo Language Faculty
B.S., Northern Arizona University
928.724.6665
tlittleb@dinecollege.edu

Gene Vecenti, Associate Professor

M.Ed., Northern Arizona University, Bilingual/Multicultural Education
B.A., Fort Lewis College, Student Structured
A.A., Diné College, Liberal Arts
A.A., Diné College, Navajo Language
A.A., Diné College, Diné Studies

Navajo Language Faculty
M.Ed, Northern Arizona University
928.724.6663
gvecenti@dinecollege.edu

Dr. Christine M. Ami

Social and Behavioral Science Faculty, also teaching Dine studies courses for NCAP: NIS 185, NIS 197, and NIS 198.
Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Navajo Cultural Arts Program Grant Manager
928.724.6616
cmami@dinecollege.edu
www.navajoculturalartsprogram.org

Tuba City Campus

Jerry Kien, Instructor

B.A., Word Bible College, Theology
Diné Studies Faculty
MA Navajo Language, Culture, and Leadership, Navajo Technical University
(928)724-7526
jkien@dinecollege.edu