Academics at Diné College

Academics at Diné College

Academics at Diné College offers 20+ degree programs. In addition to our four major schools we also provide a Dual Credit Program.

College History

Diné College is the first tribally controlled and accredited (by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools) collegiate institution in the United States. Established in 1968 as Navajo Community College, it was later renamed Diné College. The Navajo Nation sought to create an institution of higher education that encouraged Navajo youth to become contributing members of the Navajo Nation and the world. Under the direction of an eight-member Board of Regents, appointed by the Navajo Nation President and confirmed by the Health, Education and Human Services Committee of the Navajo Nation Council, the College continues its goals for student success. Today, Diné College serves a predominantly Navajo student population across the 26,000 square miles of the Navajo Nation that spans across the states of Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah. The College offers General Education courses that provide students with a high-quality experience while earning various Certificate as well as Associate and Bachelor degree programs in the areas important to the economic, political, environmental, and the Social Development of the Navajo People.

Higher Learning Commission

Diné College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The college holds memberships in the Rocky Mountain, Arizona, New Mexico, Pacific, and American Associations of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers; the American Indian Higher Education Consortium; and the Association of American Junior and Community Colleges.

In October 2018 the Higher Learning Commission reaffirmed Diné College another ten years of accreditation.

Diné College’s Higher Learning Commission Mid –Cycle visit will occur in 2022 academic year. In 2028-2029, Diné College will have their Standard Pathway Reaccreditation visit.

Official Website:


Dr. Alysa Landry

Mail to:
Diné College:
Box C09
Tsaile, AZ 86556

Dine College Facebook Dine College YouTube Dine College Twitter Dine College Instagram