Dine College Students Competed at 2024 AIHEC in Minneapolis, MN

Dine College Students Competed at 2024 AIHEC in Minneapolis, MN

15 March 2024

MINNEAPOLIS, MN —A group of Diné College students set off on a week-long journey to Minneapolis, Minnesota, to compete in the 2024 American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) Student Conference.

“The hardworking students, who have invested countless hours into their academic pursuits, proudly represented their community and school in a national competition that recognizes and supports the achievements of Native American students in higher education. We understand the challenges they must have faced, and their dedication and resilience inspire us,” said Dr. Charles Monty Roessel, President of Diné College. “They did an incredible job; we have the most talented students, and we commend their efforts for traveling across the country to represent Diné College.”

AIHEC, an annual gathering of the nation’s tribal community colleges and universities, promotes the development of American Indian and Alaska Native culture and tribal governments through the encouragement of quality post-secondary education opportunities.

“AIHEC provides an invaluable opportunity for our students to showcase their talents, engage with peers from across the nation, and represent our community on a national stage,” said Velveena Davis, Co-Chair of AIHEC. “We are incredibly proud of our students who have worked tirelessly to reach this point.”

“We’re not just competing; we’re also learning, growing, and sharing our culture,” said Jalen Small Canyon, Associated Students of Diné College Student President and one of the participants from the college. “It’s an honor to be a part of such an important event.”

The students’ journey to the Woodlands Region, hosted by 11 northern tribal colleges and universities, is a testament to their academic pursuits and desire to represent the Navajo People among half of the 573 federally recognized tribes in the United States.

The 2025 AIHEC Student Conference will be hosted next year by the South Dakota Region, coordinated by Oglala Lakota College, Sinte Gleska University, Sisseton Wahpeton College, and Sitting Bull College.


Chris Burnside,
Marketing & Communications Manager

Jazzmine D. Martinez, Marketing Assistant
Marketing & Communications

Dillon Nopah, Videographer

Patrick Begay,
Graphic Designer

Dine College Facebook Dine College YouTube Dine College Twitter Dine College Instagram